Symposium Archives

Christie Vilsack was a featured speaker at the 2016 symposium luncheon2016 Symposium Logo

Above: Christie Vilsack was a featured speaker at the symposium luncheon.

2016 Global Food Security Consortium /Leroy & Barbara Everson Symposium Draws Record Attendance

Approximately 260 experts from around the world attended the Global Food Security Consortium and the Leroy & Barbara Everson Seed & Biosafety Symposium April 13 & 14 at the Schemen Building in Ames. The symposium, titled "Real Sustainability," focused on the key elements necessary for agricultural sustainability.   

The symposium offered three sessions that explored the topics of "Developing Research Platforms for Sustainable Food Systems," "Educating the Workforce for a Dynamic Industry," and "Building Capacity through Public-Private Partnerships."

Symposium Speakers Included

William Dar, Former Director General, ICRISAT, President, Inanglupa Movement, Inc.

Christie Vilsack, Senior Advisor for International Education, USAID

Roger Thurow, Author, and Senior Fellow, the Chicago Council on Global Affairs 

Adegbola Adesogan, Director, Feed the Future Livestock Systems Innovation Lab, University of Florida

Vara Prasad, Director, Feed the Future Sustainable Intensification Innovation Lab, Kansas State University

Cory Forbes, Coordinator, Science Literacy Initiative, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Todd Hall, Executive Team, Cargill, Inc.

Moses Osiru, Deputy Executive Secretary, RUFORUM

Michelle Benjamin Calhoun, Acting Assistant Deputy Administrator, USDAFAS 

Jeff Dykstra, Co-founder and CEO, Partners in Food Solutions

Patricia Sheikh, Director of Agribusiness, Corporate Council on Africa

Deb Hamernik, Associate Dean, Associate Director, and Professor at University of Nebraska-Lincoln


To access speaker videos and award presentations, visit: 


To access a copy of the 2016 symposium program, visit:

Highlights of the 2016 Symposium

Memorandum of Understanding Signing

ISU Signs Memorandum of Understanding
with Zamarono Pam-American Agricultural School

ISU Senior Vice President and Provost Jonathan Wickert and President of the Zamorano Pan-American Agricultural School Jeffrey Lansdale sign an agreement to collaborate on future international development projects. The activities were identified in a concept note prepared earlier by the Seed Science Center and Zamorano University.

To videw a video of the signing, visit:

Outstanding Achievement Awards Presented to
Families of Lisa Shepherd Jenkins and David Lambert

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Endowed Dean Wendy Wintersteen and USAID Senior Advisor for International Education Christie Vilsack awarded two Outstanding Achievement Awards at the 2016 GFSC & Leroy & Barbara Everson Symposium.

Lisa Shepherd Jenkins Award

Above: Andy Jenkins accepts the award on behalf Lisa Shephed Jenkins. 

Symposium Luncheon Speech By Christie Vilsack and Award Presentations by Vilsack and Wintersteen.

David Lambert Award

Above: Walker and Taylor Lambert accept the award on behalf of David Patterson Lambert.

The Outstanding Achievement in Seed Science and Technology Award is given by the Seed Science Center at Iowa State University. It recognizes individuals for exemplary leadership, commitment to excellence, and outstanding service to the Seed Science Center and Iowa State University.  

2016 Poster Competition Winners

2016 GFSC Symposium Poster Competition Winners 

Three individuals earned cash prizes in the 2016 GFSC & Leroy & Barbara Everson Symposium Poster Competition. First place went to: Alejandro Morales Kansas State University (second from right); and Sam Cook, Kansas State University (far left); and MacKenzie Dickson, Iowa State (second from left) tied for second place.

Pictured with the students is Iowa State Vice President for Research Sarah Nusser.