Ten ISU Scholarship Recipients Recognized During 2017 Iowa Seed Assoc. Ceremony

Ten ISU Scholarship Recipients Recognized During 2017 Iowa Seed Association Awards Ceremony

This year, 10 Iowa State University Scholarship recipients were honored February 15 during the 2017 Iowa Seed Association Scholarship Awards Ceremony held in conjunction with the Agribusiness Showcase & Conference in Des Moines.

Seven students were awarded Iowa Seed Association Scholarships (ISA) of $1000 each. One of the students, Catherine Leafstedt, was also selected as the Manjit Misra Outstanding Senior Scholar.  She was awarded $500 in addition to the $1000 ISA scholarship. 

Also earning scholarship awards were Sarah Striegel who received a $1000 scholarship sponsored by the American Seed Trade Association (ASTA) and Leah Ellensohn received the $1000 Bill Latham Scholarship at the event.

For the first time this year, the ISU Seed Science Center awarded the Lisa Shepherd Jenkins Memorial Scholarship during the ceremony. Agronomy Senior Anthony Moellers received the award that is open to students engaged in seed science and technology at Iowa State. The $1,000 scholarship honors Shepherd Jenkins who was an internationally respected expert in seed pathology. Shepherd Jenkins, who passed away on July 1, 2015, was Director of the Administrative Unit of the National Seed Health System and Seed Health Testing Coordinator for the Seed Science Center.

Laura Schwarck is the recipient of the 2017 Iowa Crop Improvement Association Seed Scholarship. She will be recognized at the ISU Agronomy Banquet.

Above from Left: Agronomy Professor Russ Mullen, Skyler Brazel, Anthony Moellers, Sarah Striegel, Catherine Leafstedt, Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds, Haleigh Summers, Ashley Dean, Taylor Davis, Kelsey Baumhover.  Not pictured: Savannah Jones, Leah Ellensohn, and Laura Schwarck