Applications Being Accepted for $11,500 in Scholarship Money

AMES, IA – The Iowa State University (ISU) Seed Science Center (SSC) and Iowa Seed Association are accepting applications for 11 scholarships.  This year, nine Iowa Seed Association (ISA) scholarships of $1,000 each will be awarded along with the $1,000 Bill Latham Memorial Scholarship and the $1,000 Lisa Shepherd Jenkins Memorial Scholarship.   The Manjit Misra Outstanding Senior Scholar will also receive an additional $500.  

    Bill Latham was a former president of the Iowa Seed Association, the American Seed Trade Association (ASTA), the Independent Professional Seed Association (IPSA), and was a former President of his family company, Latham Seed.  Bill passed away on July 31, 2015.
    The Lisa Shepherd Jenkins Memorial Scholarship is awarded by the ISU Seed Science Center to an undergraduate student engaged in seed science and seed technology. This scholarship honors Shepherd Jenkins who served as Seed Health Testing Coordinator for the Seed Science Center and as Director of the Administrative Unit of the National Seed Health System. Lisa headed one of the most active phytosanitary seed testing programs in the country and served as a chair on committees for both the American Seed Trade Association and the American Phytopathological Society.  Lisa passed away on July 1, 2015. 

    Two of the Iowa Seed Association (ISA) scholarships will be awarded to students who have declared Seed Science as a secondary major. The remaining ISA scholarships will be open to students in any major in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (including Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering) with a demonstrated interest in seed science or in a career related to the seed industry.  The scholarships are awarded on the bases of four criteria:

  1. Academic excellence,
  2. Leadership skills,
  3. Interpersonal skills
  4. Demonstrated interest in the seed industry or seed science.

 The application can be found at